Tag Archives: The Shape of Water

Full 2018 Oscar Winners List: The Shape of Water and Dunkirk on Top of the List!

After sharing with you our predictions, here are the winners of the 90th Academy Awards in all 24 categories which were announced few hours ago live from the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood: 

Best Picture: The Shape of Water | Guillermo del Toro and J. Miles Dale


Best Actor in a Leading Role: Gary Oldman in Darkest Hour

Best Actress in a Leading Role: 
Frances McDormand in Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Sam Rockwell in Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri


Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Allison Janney in I, Tonya


Best Director: 
Guillermo del Toro for The Shape of Water

Best Original Screenplay: Get Out by Jordan Peele
Best Adapted Screenplay: Call Me by Your Name by James Ivory
Best Cinematography: Roger Deakins for Blade Runner 2049
Best Sound Mixing: Dunkirk by Gregg Landaker, Gary Rizzo and Mark Weingarten
Best Film Editing: Dunkirk by Lee Smith
Best Sound Editing: Dunkirk by Richard King and Alex Gibson
Best Visual Effects: Blade Runner 2049 by John Nelson, Gerd Nefzer, Paul Lambert and Richard R. Hoover
Best Makeup and Hairstyling: Darkest Hour by Kazuhiro Tsuji, David Malinowski and Lucy Sibbick
Best Costume Design: Phantom Thread by Mark Bridges
Best Production Design: The Shape of Water by Paul D. Austerberry, Shane Vieau and Jeffrey A. Melvin
Best Original Song: “Remember Me” from Coco by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez
 Best Original Score: The Shape of Water by Alexandre Desplat
Best Animated Short: Dear Basketball | Glen Keane and Kobe Bryant
Best Live Action Short: The Silent Child | Chris Overton and Rachel Shenton
Best Documentary Short: Heaven is a Traffic Jam on the 405 by Frank Stiefel

Best Foreign Language Film: A Fantastic Woman (Chile)

Best Animated Feature: Coco | Lee Unkrich and Darla K. Anderson
Best Documentary Feature: Icarus | Bryan Fogel and Dan Cogan

And here’s a small reminder of the nominations which made history:

  1. Best Cinematography: Mudbound‘s Rachel Morrison became the first woman cinematographer ever to be nominated for an Oscar.
  2. Best Foreign Language Film: Ziad Doueiri‘s The Insult became the first Lebanese film ever to be nominated for an Oscar.
  3. Best Director: Dunkirk‘s Christopher Nolan‘s first nomination ever in this category and Lady Bird‘s Greta Gerwig became the fifth woman to be nominated in this category.
  4. Best Actor in a Supporting Role: All the Money in the World‘s 88-year-old legend Christopher Plummer became the oldest nominee for acting in the Academy’s history.
  5. Best Adapted Screenplay: Logan became the first live-action superhero film to be nominated in this category.

We hope that next year will bring more beautiful surprises just like Ziad Doueiri, Joelle Touma and the team of The Insult did for Lebanon.

See you in May for the new awards season’s coverage starting with the 71st Cannes Film Festival!

© Cinetrotter, 2014-2018. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Cinetrotter with appropriate and specific direction to the original content